Geography of Nagaland

The total area covered by Nagaland is 16,579 km².

Nagaland is divided into eleven districts within which there are 827 villages. The four major tribes in Nagaland, the Ao, Angami, Chang and Khiamniungan tribe together account for only 58% of the population while 16 other tribes inhabit different parts and mainly constitute the remaining 25%. Each village has a headman called 'Lokho Kichu' who conducts all the business pertaining to his respective tribe as well as acts as a judge from time to time. There also exists a Council of Elders consisting of village heads and a Chief altogether which formulates laws and punishments for various offences.

Nagaland has eleven districts, named as Kohima district, Phek district, Mokokchung district, Wokha district, Tuensang district, Mon district, Longleng district, Zunheboto district, Kiphire district, Peren district and Changlang district.